Solar Powered!


We are having solar panels installed today! Right now our solar guy is in my room hooking up the entire system to the house – and once he is done, we have power. Well actually that just happened! Which is super crazy – the truck was here yesterday, and now we have electricity without the noise from the generator, for the first time in over 3 years! No more generator – unless it is cloudy for more than 3 days in a row. I don’t know how many of those streaks we’ve had of those in these last 3 years… We’ve had one cloudy week this winter (we’ve had plenty of cloudy days, but seldom more than a couple in a row) – but I think that is the only time I remember… Maybe that is a little optimistic – but if that stat holds we will need the generator once every 3 years. Nah – I don’t think that will hold, but let’s see. This is a big milestone – a really really big milestone. 

Panels arriving yesterday


It will save us a lot of money – since Marcus has needed electricity for his job 8-9 hours pr. day…  Those savings will then enable us to move forward on a lot of other projects around here. Which will hopefully make us self-sufficient in food at some point. We should have done it from the beginning – but hindsight is 20-20, and we didn’t and now we have and that is good 🙂

The inverter??? (gosh and I pretend to be an engineer…)

I am super tired – stayed up way too late last night, and woke up at 5:30 (as I do now with this new diet), did yoga, meditated, made breakfast – woke up my son and had breakfast with him, went to Granada to the dentist (have found a wonderful holistic dentist that make the drive worth my while), back to pick up my daughter who was on a sleepover so she didn’t have to tag along. She was super tired and grumpy too – too little sleep on sleep overs… So I think I will lay down on the couch and enjoy the luxury of electricity 🙂

And the panels were up!

Oh – I just wanted to add this little picture: The fig-tree that died last year has sprouted from the root. To me it represents everything that we were struggeling with last year, which comes to fruition this year.

A little fig-tree sprouting from the root of a dead tree
8 thoughts on “Solar Powered!

Add yours

  1. Hi, I just found your blog today and must say I’m very excited about all of this. It sounds like you’re doing exactly what we’ve been dreaming about for a long time.
    We (I, my fiancee and our baby) actually moved down to Mijas from Sweden this January to rent a place while trying to find a finca in the Málaga region. To start a small permaculture farm on our way to selfsuficient living.

    It would be great if you guys would like to meet and talk or show your place.
    Thanks,
    Albert, Marie and Alma

    1. Embarrassing.. I haven’t used wordpress in many years, and the name “getrichquickscheme”, which my name was with the previous comment, was an old joke blog.

    2. Hi Albert. We would love to meet-up one day. We are having guests coming on Tuesday – but when they go back home you and your family are welcome to come by for a cup of coffee/tea. I will send you an e-mail later on.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

